Kansas City Chiefs dominate 2018 Associated Press All-Pro teams | Free Press from USA

Kansas City Chiefs dominate 2018 Associated Press All-Pro teams

Kansas City Chiefs dominate 2018 Associated Press All-Pro teams

The Associated Press NFL All-Pro teams were announced Friday and one team in particular dominated the first team.

The Kansas City Chiefs had a league-high four players – quarterback Patrick Mahomes, tight end Travis Kelce, receiver Tyreek Hill, and right tackle Mitchell Schwartz – selected to the first team.

Mahomes also figures to be the favorite for the AP Most Valuable Player award, which is announced the Saturday before Super Bowl at the 8th Annual NFL Honors show, as he earned 45-of-50 votes at quarterback.

New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees was the second-team selection.

Mahomes has been instrumental in launching the Chiefs to a 12-4 record and the No. 1 seed in the AFC behind a 66 % completion rate for 5,097 yards and a league-best 50 touchdown passes.

The lone unanimous first-team selection was Los Angeles Rams defensive tackle Aaron Donald, whose 20.5 sacks led the NFL by a margin of 4.5.

Houston Texans receiver DeAndre Hopkins, who caught 115 passes for 1,572 yards and 11 touchdowns, received the most votes of any offensive player with 46.

And for the first time since 1965, two rookies on the same squad were named all-pros with Colts left guard Quenton Nelson and linebacker Darius Leonard getting recognized in their first seasons in the league. They joined Chicago Bears linebacker Dick Butkus and running back Gale Sayers as the last rookie duo to achieve the honor.

A nationwide panel of 50 media members who regularly cover the NFL submit ballots to select the all-pro teams.

The full list of first- and second-team selections is below.



Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs
Running Back: Todd Gurley, Los Angeles Rams
Flex: Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs
Tight End: Travis Kelce, Kansas City Chiefs
Wide Receivers: Michael Thomas, New Orleans Saints; DeAndre Hopkins, Houston Texans
Left Tackle: David Bakhtiari, Green Bay Packers
Right Tackle: Mitchell Schwartz, Kansas City Chiefs
Left Guard: Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis Colts
Right Guard: Zack Martin, Dallas Cowboys
Center: Jason Kelce, Philadelphia Eagles


Edge Rushers: J.J. Watt, Houston Texans; Khalil Mack, Chicago Bears
Interior Linemen: Aaron Donald, Los Angeles Rams; Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia Eagles
Linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Carolina Panthers; Bobby Wagner, Seattle Seahawks; Darius Leonard, Indianapolis Colts
Cornerbacks: Kyle Fuller, Chicago Bears; Stephon Gilmore, New England Patriots
Safeties: Eddie Jackson, Chicago Bears; Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers
Defensive Back: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers


Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore Ravens
Punter: Michael Dickson, Seattle Seahawks
Kick Returner: Andre Roberts, New York Jets
Punt Returner: Tarik Cohen, Chicago Bears
Special Teamer: Adrian Phillips, Los Angeles Chargers



Quarterback: Drew Brees, New Orleans Saints
Running Back: Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas Cowboys
Flex: Christian McCaffrey, Carolina Panthers
Tight End: George Kittle, San Francisco 49ers
Wide Receivers: Julio Jones, Atlanta Falcons; Tyreek Hill, Kansas City Chiefs
Left Tackle: Duane Brown, Seattle Seahawks, and Terron Armstead, New Orleans Saints
Right Tackle: Ryan Ramczyk, New Orleans Saints
Left Guard: Joel Bitonio, Cleveland Browns
Right Guard: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore Ravens
Center: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh Steelers


Edge Rushers: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; Cameron Jordan, New Orleans Saints; Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings
Interior Linemen: Chris Jones, Kansas City Chiefs; J.J. Watt, Houston Texans
Linebackers: Von Miller, Denver Broncos; C.J. Mosley, Baltimore Ravens; Leighton Vander Esch, Dallas Cowboys
Cornerbacks: Byron Jones, Dallas Cowboys; Xavien Howard, Miami Dolphins
Safeties: Jamal Adams, New York Jets; Harrison Smith, Minnesota Vikings
Defensive Back: Derwin James, Los Angeles Chargers


Placekicker: Aldrick Rosas, New York Giants
Punter: Johnny Hekker, Los Angeles Rams
Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, New England Patriots
Punt Returner: Desmond King, Los Angeles Chargers
Special Teamer: Cory Littlejohn, Los Angeles Rams

Source link